I got one right

Throughout my blog, I have argued time and again that the development and practice of cognitive ability is one of the key enablers or detractors of personal and organizational performance.   I have encouraged my readers to focus on improving their cognitive skills as a means of empowering improved decision making capabilities.

When I was in undergraduate business school years ago, we were required to subscribe to and read the Wall Street Journal on a daily basis. That assignment started a discipline that has endured through my career.  One of the reasons that I read the Wall Street Journal daily is that its healthcare industry coverage is as good as any.  In addition, The Wall Street Journal is intellectually stimulating on many levels.  For example, one of the things that has been shown to improve cognitive ability is vocabulary study.  Rarely a day goes by that I do not see at least one word in the journal that I cannot define.  I look these words up and record their definition.  When I find myself with nothing to do, I get my list out.  More often than not, these words are found on the Journal’s editorial pages that are written by some of the smartest people alive.

My article on career development has been very popular.  I am honored and humbled by the number of people following my work that are genuinely interested in developing their careers and advancing in organizations.  The comments, feedback and suggestions this article stimulated have been inspiring to me and motivate me to find suggestions and recommendations that will be helpful to my readers.

Many of us know and are motivated by the stimulation that comes from affirmation.  In my article on career advancement, I argue for the development of cognitive ability as a means of building a foundation from which you may advance your career.  One of the things that fascinates me about universities and the people that work there is that regardless of the subject, how arcane or trivial it may seem to be, there is a professor at some university somewhere that is an expert on the subject.  We are so blessed and our society and life is so enriched to have these geniuses among us.

An article that appeared in the Wall Street Journal on June 5, 2017 is a very good example of what I’m talking about. This article confirms my theory that the development of cognitive ability is a critical success factor when it comes to roles and responsibilities requiring the incumbent to be able to do their own thinking.  I had no idea that for many years this very characteristic has been under study.  Not only that, there is a ranking of the degree to which various university programs are or are not successful in developing cognitive skills among their students.  It is very sad and some may argue disingenuous that these data are not readily available to people considering one academic program over another.

The  article title is:  Exclusive Test Data: Many Colleges Fail to Improve Critical-Thinking Skills

So I’m vindicated.  The admonition of this is that all of us can benefit from  focus on continuous cognitive ability improvement.  So what are you waiting for?  How much more evidence do you need to be convinced that among the highest and best uses of your time is investment in yourself?

Please feel free to contact me to discuss any questions or observations you might have about these blogs or interim executive services in general.  As the only practicing Interim Executive that has done a dissertation on Interim Executive Services in healthcare in the US, I might have an idea or two that might be valuable to you.  I can also help with career transitions or career planning.

The easiest way to keep abreast of this blog is to become a follower.  You will be notified of all updates as they occur.  To become a follower, just click the “Following” link that usually appears as a bubble near the bottom this web page.

There is a comment section at the bottom of each blog page.  Please provide input and feedback that will help me to improve the quality of this work.

This is original work.  This material is copyrighted by me with reproduction prohibited without prior permission.  I note and  provide links to supporting documentation for non-original material.

If you would like to discuss any of this content or ask questions, I may be reached at ras2@me.com. I look forward to engaging in productive discussion with anyone that is a practicing interim executive or a decision maker with experience engaging interim executives in healthcare.

Best of luck – Ray Snead

Leave a Reply

